Chewy Butterfinger Cookies

It was just one of those Mondays that screamed for cookies and candy, and lo and behold, I found a great challenge that involves both.  I enjoy both Butterfingers and cookies, so to see them together in the same delicious-looking treat sounds like a great idea to try.   I’m using the recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction blog.  I suppose if one is to have any kind of addiction, baking is an ok one to have.

For these cookies, Sally wants me to use:

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 1 large egg
  • 8 fun sized Butterfinger candy bars, chopped

As far I as know, the fun-sized Butterfinger candy bars are found around Halloween time.  But it’s not October, and fun-sized was nowhere to be found in my local supermarket, so I settled for two “serious-sized” candy bars.  Then I smashed them!

When softening the butter, I warmed it in the microwave but made sure not to melt it.  I was supposed to beat the sugar and butter with an electric mixer, but as you may recall from the time I made the chocolate cake, my mixer is currently out of service.   I mixed in the rest of the ingredients, Butterfinger pieces last.  The texture of the dough was much more “doughy” than most cookies I’ve made before, but I figured that was the secret behind the chewiness that I was supposed to expect at the end.

I dropped rounded teaspoons (oops, not tablespoons, but I didn’t think it would make a difference, just smaller cookies) onto a cookie pan and let them cook for about 12 minutes.  This is what I got:

I’ll tell you what, these cookies smelled really good.  Pieces of Butterfinger flakes, or whatever the inside of it is called, melted onto the pan, and that with the chocolate added extra gooeyness to the cookie while it was still warm.  Speaking of chocolate, I didn’t realize until after smashing the candy bar into pieces that there really isn’t much chocolate to the bar.  If I make this again, I’ll be sure to add more chocolate chips or something because I felt like the peanut butter taste dominated the chocolate.  My taste buds should be able to enjoy both simultaneously.

My cookies didn’t come out cute and round and chewy-looking like Sally’s (why wouldn’t they get flatter?); in fact, I was a little disappointed that the cookies weren’t as chewy as the name promised they would be.  They were sort of dry.  Almost like a biscuit or a scone.  These were basically Butterfinger scones.

Overall, they were not terrible cookies.  Because of their scone-like qualities, they actually go really great with my morning coffee and tea.  I just need to figure out how to make them round and chewy next time.

Successful?:  Close.
Edible?:  Yes.
Tasty?:  Indeed.
Rematch?:   I believe so!  I think if I make these cookies a second time they will be just as irresistible as the candy bar!

One thought on “Chewy Butterfinger Cookies

Leave a Reply

