Mousse de Maracujá (Passion Fruit Mousse)

Keeping with the Latino-food track I’ve somehow been on the last couple of weeks, I’m going to try this challenge that not only involves ingredients that can sometimes be difficult to find in the supermarket here in the U.S. but also is written in an entirely different language and has pretty unspecific measurements.  I got a special request to make this dessert so I can’t turn down this challenge.

This is from the Saboroso Gostinho blog. This is what the end result should be:

Let’s see if I can make this happen.

The tricky part to this list here is that I’m not totally sure that the size/measurements of the ingredients in Brazil are the same as the kinds we have here. I’m taking about, how big is a can of cream there? Are two packets of gelatin the same amount here and there? I just had to take the risk of assuming that the ingredient measurements are exactly the same.

This is what I needed (translated to English):

For the mousse:
2 envelopes unflavored gelatin powder
1 teaspoon (tsp) of yellow food coloring
2 cups (tea) of passion fruit juice
2 cans of condensed milk
3 cans of cream
1kg of milk chocolate melted
For the topping:
Pulp of 3 passionfruits
1 cup of water
1 cup of sugar
1/2 tbsp (tablespoons) cornstarch
1 spoon (soup) of corn syrup like Karo

Let’s talk about the ingredients here, because a lack of specific descriptions confuse and frustrate me. 3 cans of cream: I went with the little can of Nestle table cream, because that’s what we have as cream here. Food coloring? Why? The fruit is already yellow, why do I want to make it more yellow. This is obviously for presentation purposes, and I was satisfied enough with the color of my mousse to not include it at all. Pulp of 3 passion fruits – that’s basically half a cup, not very much. And, in case you don’t know already, passion fruit already has a very strong, concentrated taste to it anyway, so you won’t need a whole lot to give the mousse a passion fruity flavor. Also – I need 1 KILOGRAM of chocolate? Whoa, there….ok, if you say so.

First thing to do was to dissolve two packets of unflavored gelatin in a water bath with the passion fruit juice. I added a little water and sugar to some concentrate and that worked pretty well too.

moussemaracuja_1

As I mentioned before, I didn’t add the dye as the instructions told me to.  Look how the juice teems with yellowness!  No need for more yellow pigment here.

I transferred the juice into a blender and added 2 cans of cream and the 2 cans of condensed milk.  After it was all blended together, I transferred the mixture to a bowl and set it aside in the refrigerator for about half an hour.

moussemaracuja_2

While the mixture chilled in the fridge for a while, I got started on the kilogram of chocolate I had to melt for the chocolate layer of this dessert.

See there? One bag of chocolate disks is only a quarter of a kilogram.  I had to get four bags for this.

I melted the chocolate doing the small pot-over-a-bigger-pot-filled-with-boiling-water way.  Also known as a makeshift bain marie.   Aka a water bath.  One time I read that if you get the tiniest drop of water in the melted chocolate, it messes the whole thing up.  I believe that, and I tried really hard not to let any disasters happen.  That should be easy, right, since my melted chocolate is surrounded by a MOAT OF BURNING WATER.

moussemaracuja (5)

So anyway, when all the chocolate melted I added that last teeny can of cream to the melted chocolate. It didn’t seem enough. Or right, for that matter. I expected a creamy, moussy-textured concoction but it was just sort of thick and lumpy.

But the show had to go on! I started layering the mousse and chocolate in a clear baking dish: mousse, chocolate, mousse

moussemaracuja (6)

I wasn’t feeling the chocolate layer. But maybe it would get better after it set in the fridge for a while.
In the meantime, I prepared the passion fruit jelly topping by mixing the pulp of three passion fruits, 1 cup of water, about half a cup of Splenda (I didn’t go with the whole cup because the passion fruit is already very sweet, in my opinion), and cornstarch. When I added the cornstarch, it makes the mixture look sort of cloudy, but that’s not a bad thing, it will go away. The corn syrup was added last.

moussemaracuja_3

I poured a thin layer of the topping over the mousse and let it sit in the refrigerator for a few more hours.

Then it was time to cut it open.

It was hard. It was hard because my chocolate layer had turned rock hard. It wasn’t anything like that creamy looking layer of chocolate at the very top of this post, no, it was like a thick layer of stone hidden under the delicious layers of passion fruit.

moussemaracuja (8)

I was not thrilled by how the chocolate turned out, of course, but the passion fruit mousse actually came out pretty great. I’m glad I made the necessary adjustments with the sweetness, because passion fruit is already a very strong tasting (but delicious) fruit. I ended up picking out the rock-hard layer of chocolate because it was just unpleasant to eat. However, the traces of chocolate complements the mousse really well. If I were to do this over again, I’d either skip the chocolate altogether or just create a thinner layer.

Assessment

Presentation: Not quite as clean as the original blogger’s photo, but not terrible either. Except for the chocolate.
Edibility: All edible. Not fun to grind through the chocolate, but still edible.
Tastiness: Passion fruit and chocolate are an amazing combo!
Rematch?: I’m going to say yes! I really liked it. Gotta fix that chocolate next time though…

2 thoughts on “Mousse de Maracujá (Passion Fruit Mousse)

  1. After doing a bit more research, I realized that cream comes in a larger box in Brazil, rather than a small can. I probably needed more cream to keep the chocolate from turning back into a solid block.

Leave a Reply

