Donna Hay’s Banana Cake

I’ve been meaning to make this cake for a long time!  I learned about this cake about a year ago from a friend who enjoys the recipes of the Australian Martha Stewart, Donna Hay.  I’ve seen a couple of her shows, and I’ve decided that I like her too!  I watched her make this banana cake before and have always wanted to try it myself, so here goes.

In case you were wondering, I tend to have a lot of old bananas in my house.  That’s why I make so many banana desserts. 

First, I had to pull out my trusty scale.  Because the Australians are on the metric system, like everyone else in the world.  Then I measured out these ingredients:

  • 125 g butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cups plain all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup rough mashed bananas (this is about 2 large bananas)

For the caramel sauce:

  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup of pouring cream (I used I small can of table cream)

dhbannacake (2)

You’ve seen me make lots of cakes before, you know how it’s done!  I had the oven preheated to 350, then I mixed the butter and sugars together until it became creamy.  Then I added the eggs, the sour cream, the banana, and the cinnamon – mixed those well – and then added the flour and baking powder over the mixture.  Carefully, so I wouldn’t make the flour explode in the kitchen.  Like I do every time. 

I poured the mixture into a greased bundt pan and baked for about 40 minutes. 

While the cake cooled, I prepared the caramel sauce. So saucy. 

dhbannacake (3)

I mixed the brown sugar and the cream together until I got this bubbly brown lava.  

Then I tried to elegantly pour it over the still-warm cake.  I had to force the cascading effect in some spots, but I managed to get the sauce on there all right. 

dhbannacake (4)

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMmmm.

dhbannacake (1)

I have made many banana desserts before, and I know I will be making many more in the future, but I have to say, I think this one of the best banana cakes I’ve ever tried.  The cake is moist, sweet, and soft, and the banana flavor is just right.  The caramel sauce is a good match, though I think the cake is just fine with or without it. 

Assessment

Presentation: The caramel topping could look less sloppy…but I’ll work on that next time!
Edibility: Oh yes!
Tastiness: So very tasty.  Perfect for tea time. 
Rematch?: Absolutely!  

Leave a Reply

