Mini Banana Cheesecakes

OMG cuteness alert! As I mentioned in my last post, there is always an unusual number of overripe bananas in my kitchen so I have to do something with them.  I wanted to try something that didn’t involve a loaf pan, so I found this great recipe for itty bitty banana cheesecakes from Baked by Rachel.

For the crust:

  • 20 Nilla Wafer cookies
  • 2 1/4 tsp granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp butter

Filling:

  • 12 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 banana mashed
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 egg

For the whipped cream topping:

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 3 tbsp powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

The first thing Baked by Rachel wants me to do is preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease a 12 cup mini cheesecake pan.  I don’t have one of those, so I just went with a regular cupcake pan and used the paper liners.

I smashed the Nilla Wafers into tiny bits and mixed in the sugar and melted butter, then I smooshed them to the bottom of the cupcake liners.

IMG_4085

In a mixer, I mixed the softened cream cheese and sugar until smooth and fluffy, just like Baked by Rachel says to do.  Then I added the vanilla, salt, and egg until I got a nice creamy mixture, and I filled the cupcake liners 2/3 full.

IMG_4086

15-18 mins in the oven….and then I let them cool in the fridge.

Because there’s no place cooler than the fridge.

Or my blog! Wooo!

While the little cheesecakes chilled, I made the whipped topping and put a dab on each of the cakes.

IMG_4088

Don’t these little things look tasty and adorable?

IMG_4092

These little cheesecakes will always have a special place in my heart.  They are SO good.  Tastes a little banana-y and mostly cheesecake-y.  A great combo.  And they’re such a great bite size, too. You can chomp them down in one or two bites.  It took me four bites…but that’s because I liked to savor that sweet banana flavor. 🙂

Assessment

Presentation: Totally cute.
Edibility: Absolutely!
Tastiness: We have a winner here, people.
Rematch?: Oh, you know it.

Leave a Reply

